Ian Fraser “Lemmy” Kilmister died last week at the age of 70.

The bass-playing Lemmy was best known for being the frontman and founder of the UK heavy-metal rock’n’roll band Motörhead. After a four-year stint with the British Space Rock group Hawkwind, the hard-living and flamboyant musician — known for his mutton-chop facial hair and an Hell’s Angel’s fashion sense — went on to create 23 Motörhead studio albums over a 40-year period. Their biggest hit was the title track of the 1980 record Ace of Spades.

The Guardian newspaper writes: “The band’s early years are credited with laying the ground for thrash and speed metal, but Lemmy consistently refused to categorise their music as either punk or metal, often playing to audiences of both genres.”

Monday’s broadcast of “The Freak Power Ticket” (January 4th) will salute the colorful musician (and actor), playing a selection of tracks from Hawkwind and Motörhead plus a number of other acts in various genres who recorded songs by or with Lemmy, or associated with Motörhead: such as The Rockin’ Vickers, The Bad Shepherds, Hayseed Dixie, Whiskey Daredevils, Lars Frederiksen and the Bastards, GIRLSCHOOL, Superchunk, Sepultura, Ramones, The Head Cat, Probot, and more.

Motörhead’s online announcement of Lemmy’s passing said:

Ian ‘Lemmy’ Kilmister

1945 -2015

‘Born to lose, lived to win.’


“The Freak Power Ticket” airs on Mondays during UCSB’s fall quarter from 11am-12noon PST.